Jake Thiessen: 2014 Pillar of Pharmacy Award

Jake ThiessenDr. Jake Thiessen, Chair of OPEN’s Advisory Committee, received the prestigious 2014 Pillar of Pharmacy Award from the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy. Dr. Thiessen was a member of the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Pharmacy 33 years as well as the Founding Director of the University of Waterloo’s School of Pharmacy, the nation’s newest pharmacy school and the only co-op pharmacy program in Canada. In addition to his lengthy accomplishments in academia, Dr. Thiessen has been an innovative health researcher, securing more than $16.5 million for research projects during his tenure at both universities.

John Papastergiou: Canadian Pharmacist of the Year

John PapastergiouJohn Papastergiou, a pharmacist and collaborating member on the Pharmacists as immunizers team, was awarded Canadian Pharmacist of the Year.

Conferred by the Canadian Pharmacists Association, this annual award recognizes a pharmacist who demonstrates leadership and exemplifies the evolution of the pharmacy profession toward an expanded role in healthcare.

Kelly Grindrod: Wellspring Pharmacy Leadership Award

Kelly GrindrodKelly Grindrod, an Assistant Professor and co-lead of the Knowledge translation and exchange team, was awarded the 2014 Wellspring Pharmacy Leadership Award.

Conferred by the Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy, the Wellspring Pharmacy Leadership Awards recognize individuals who have demonstrated leadership in the pharmacy profession.

Martin Cooke: Angus Reid Practitioner/Applied Sociology Award

Martin CookeMartin Cooke, an Associate Professor and lead of the Gender and vulnerable populations team, received the Angus Reid Practitioner/Applied Sociology Award from the Canadian Sociological Association.

This award recognizes sociologists who undertake community action projects that bring social science knowledge, methods and expertise to bear in addressing community-identified issues and concerns. The award also celebrates sociologists who have contributed to sociological practice that have served as a model for working with a community, organization or public service.

Barbara Farrell: Outstanding Research Article Award

Barbara FarrellBarbara Farrell, a scientist at the Bruyère Research Institute and co-lead of the Deprescribing guidelines for the elderly team, received the 2013 Outstanding Research Article Award from the University of Ottawa’s Department of Family Medicine.

The research article — Working in interprofessional teams: What do pharmacists do? — was published in Research in Social and Administrative Pharmacy.

Sarah Johnson: 2014 OPA Student of Distinction

Sarah JohnsonSarah Johnson, a fourth-year University of Waterloo Pharmacy student and a member of the Pharmacists as immunizers team, received the Student of Distinction Award from the Ontario Pharmacists Association.

The award is given to a graduating pharmacy student from one of Ontario’s two schools of pharmacy who has exhibited strong leadership qualities and a commitment to advancing the profession of pharmacy throughout their academic career.

Lisa Dolovich: Pharmacy practice research competition

Lisa Dolovichpharmacy evaluation frameworkLisa Dolovich, OPEN’s co-lead and the lead of the Pharmacist services evaluation framework project, was a winner of the 2014 Canadian Pharmacists Conference’s pharmacy practice research competition for her oral presentation titled “Capturing the perspectives of academics, policy makers, physicians and pharmacists about the evaluation of pharmacy services: Preliminary results.”

Congratulations to Sara Akram, Sarah Rietkoetter, Feng Chang, Barbara Farrell, Linda MacKeigan, Ava Nainifard, Tejal Patel, Karen Slonim and Nancy Waite — the Pharmacist services evaluation framework team members who conducted the research for this oral presentation.